Australia Day awards 2021


Nominations close Friday, 4 December and can be made through an online application. The nomination can be saved as you progress completing it.

Echuca & District - online application

Kyabram & District - online application

Rochester & District - online application

Tongala & District - online application

Rushworth & District - online application

If you are unsure which area to apply to, look at what townships are in each area - 'Definition of areas' below.

About the awards:

The awards reward and recognise individuals that have made a noteworthy contribution during the current year, and/or give an outstanding service over a number of years, to a local community over and above normal employment duties. 

Outstanding contribution and community service includes areas such as; education, health, fundraising, charitable and voluntary services, business, sport, arts, the environment, or any other area that contributes to the advancement and wellbeing of a community. 

The recipient will be a resident of the Campaspe Shire Council and one whose achievements in service for others has had a significant influence in the local community or has made an outstanding achievement in an appropriate field of endeavour.


Citizen of the Year Award

To be eligible, the person must be 25 years or older:

  • has made an outstanding contribution to the community,
  • has been an inspiration/role model to the community,
  • has demonstrated a commitment to enhancing the welfare and wellbeing of the community, that have short or long term benefits for others. 

Young Citizen of the Year Award         

To be eligible, the person must be 15-25 years:

  • has made an outstanding contribution to the community,
  • has been an inspiration/role model to young people in their community,
  • has shown achievements in community activities, academic, sporting, personal, cultural, environmental and/or social responsibility.

Award winner selection:

Selection panels will give consideration to the following in assessing and comparing nominations against the above criteria:

  • Personal, academic and professional achievements,
  • Contribution in the relevant field (how has the nominee 'put back' into their field to benefit others)
  • Demonstrated leadership, innovation and creativity
  • Personal interests and community involvement
  • Future goals and likely impact
  • Degree of difficulty of the achievement and sacrifices made
  • Previous awards and recognition
  • Voluntary work beyond paid employment
  • Nature and length of activity or service
  • Achievements as an individual or as part of a group or organisation


Australia Day Award winners will be announced at Australia Day celebrations in each area (Echuca, Kyabram, Rochester, Rushworth and Tongala). 

Nominate someone who makes a real difference in your community and give them the opportunity to be rewarded and recognised for their important contribution.

Definition of areas:

If you are having trouble determining where your nomination should be sent, following is a list of the districts and the townships that are included in these districts: 

Echuca & District – Bamawm Extension, Echuca & Echuca South, East & West, Gunbower, Kotta , Patho, Torrumbarry.

Kyabram & District – Kyabram, Lancaster, Wyuna.

Rochester & District – Ballendella, Bamawm, Diggora West, Lockington, Nanneella, Rochester, Strathallan, Tennyson.

Tongala & District – Koyuga, Kyvalley, Tongala.

Rushworth & District – Corop, Colbinabbin, Girgarre, Rushworth, Stanhope, Toolleen.



If you require assistance putting your nomination together, please contact your local area committee member.  

Echuca & District - Mike Stansbury  0418 323 716

Kyabram & District - John Martin  0417 532 645

Rochester & District - Heather Watson  0439 842 177

Tongala & District - Mitchell Kelsey  0439 367 381

Rushworth & District - Mary Beck  0407 456 734