Campaspe's beginning

Campaspe Shire Council was formed on 18 November 1994 following a Victorian Government restructure of the state’s municipalities. Two hundred and five local governments were restructured into 78, Campaspe among them.

Initially, our new shire included:

  • the former Shires of Deakin and Rochester
  • most of the former Shire of Waranga
  • small portions of the Shire of Rodney
  • all of the Town of Kyabram and City of Echuca.

On 27 January 1995, small portions of the former Shire of Cohuna (Gunbower area) and Shire of Gordon were added, giving the council its current geographic area.

Organisation structure

The Campaspe Shire Council consists of five divisions managed by four General Managers and the Chief Executive Officer (CEO). 

Each division, as well as the Office of the CEO, is made up of several departments that deliver a range of services and supports to the local community. 

Download Leadership Team structure here.