Keeping Campaspe beautiful

30 August 2016 - Media release

A school, a Landcare group and a Council partnership are all finalists in this year’s Keep Victoria Beautiful Awards.

The awards recognise the efforts of individuals, community groups and organisations to keep their areas beautiful.

This year, the Mt Pleasant Creek Catchment Landcare Group has been recognised for their work at the Toolleen Wayside Stop, Echuca’s St Mary’s Primary School has been recognised for reducing the school’s waste and Campaspe Shire’s partnership with Ellwaste to reduce waste going into landfill has also been rewarded.

“Each of these entries show that there are people across the community who have a passion for the environment and commit their time and efforts to making Campaspe a cleaner and greener place to live,” said spokesperson for Waste and Environment, Cr Ian Maddison.

“Over the past year, the Waste and Environment Unit has increased resource recovery at four of Campaspe’s Transfer Stations. This has involved upgrades to the Toolleen and Colbinabbin Transfer Stations, as well as new sorting sheds at Mt Scobie and Rochester Transfer Stations, which mean more material is saved from landfill.”

“The Landcare group in Toolleen has created a lovely place for travellers and locals to rest and from which to explore the local area. Weed control, a new walking path, installation of a flora and history board and revegetation have all enhanced the area on the Northern Highway and provided a key point of interest for the community.

“St Mary’s Primary School employed a sustainability educator at the start of the school year. As a result of this, the school has set up a garden, compost and chook yard to help educate students in sustainability.

“Each of these projects has impacted the immediate environment in a positive way and has the potential for long-lasting impact,” said Cr Maddison.

“I congratulate each of these groups on their achievements and wish them luck as they progress to the state final.”

The finalists were recognised at a presentation at the library today. State winners will be announced in October.