Local state finalists in Tidy Towns Awards

14 September 2017 - Media release

Two Campaspe community groups have been announced as state finalists in the Tidy Towns Awards Program, part of the 2017 Keep Victoria Beautiful Awards.

Plastic Bag Free Echuca Moama and Strathallan Family Landcare have been awarded the honour as key contenders to take out the state award for their inspiring leadership within the community for their environmental projects.

Campaspe Shire Mayor, Cr Adrian Weston said it is fantastic to see dedicated community members formally commended for their efforts in making our environment more sustainable.

“The Campaspe community is very fortunate to have motivated members leading the way in environmental sustainability enterprises,” Cr Weston said.

Plastic Bag Free Echuca Moama has been named a state finalist in the Environmental Sustainability Award category for their campaign “Echuca says no to plastic bags”.

Strathallan Family Landcare Group are also a finalist in the Protection of the Environment Award category for their efforts in the project “Strathallan Family Landcare – creating a haven for Squirrel Gliders”.

The Tidy Towns – Sustainable Communities Awards recognise and celebrate positive actions taken by people in regional areas to protect and enhance their local environments.

In addition to the two groups being named state finalists, a further two local projects were also recognised at a regional level:

  • Boomerang Bags Echuca-Moama for their initiative “Borrow and Reuse – Sew Sustainable” for the Gift Fund Prize
  • Echuca 208 Primary School for their imitative in “Student Green Team Leads Environmental Education” in the Active Schools Award.

All four of our regional nominees will be presented with certificates at a Regional Presentation later this month.

“The positive contributions made by our community groups to a sustainable and liveable society, makes where we live even more appealing,” Cr Weston said.

“Congratulations to our four nominated groups and all the best to our two state finalists,” Cr Weston added.

The state winners will be announced at the state awards late October.