Mayor elect and Deputy mayor elect announced

5 November 2018 - Media release

Waranga Ward Councillor Adrian Weston is expected to be officially confirmed as Campaspe Shire Council Mayor at the 13 November statutory meeting, following an Assembly of Councillors held earlier today.

In line with council’s Meeting Local Law, a ballot was held calling for nominations to the position of Mayor. Three nominations were received, with Cr Weston announced as Mayor Elect.

After serving the past two terms as Mayor, Cr Weston expressed thanks to his fellow councillors for showing their support for him to continue in the role.

“I am proud to be given the opportunity to lead this council for a third term. I look forward to outlining some of the key focus areas for the year ahead at our meeting next week,” Cr Weston said.

“We have achieved many things over the past two years of this council term, with the past year achievements recently outlined in our Annual Report, released just last month.”

Councillors also nominated to the position of Deputy Mayor, with two nominations received. Kyabram Deakin Ward Councillor Vicki Neele was successful in nominating to this position for a second term.

Cr Neele also expressed thanks to fellow councillors in showing their support.

“I look forward to continuing to support Cr Weston in his role as Mayor and working across the community,” Cr Neele said.

The positions of Mayor and Deputy Mayor will be formally considered by council at the 13 November statutory meeting.