

Council Minutes



Date: 19 November 2024

Time: 5:30pm

Venue: Echuca Civic Centre



Contents

1	Apologies	4
2	Election of Mayor	5
	Ceremonial Mayoral Speech	
4	Election of Deputy Mayor	7
5	Close Meeting	8

For an unscheduled meeting of the Campaspe Shire Council held on Tuesday 19 November 2024, commencing at 5:30pm at the Council Chambers, Echuca Civic Centre.

Present	In Attendance
Councillors	Officers
Cr Robert Amos	Pauline Gordon – Chief Executive Officer
Cr Jessica Mitchell	Matthew McPherson – Director Corporate
Cr Paul Jarman	Jo Bradshaw – Director Communities
Cr John Zobec	Kate Lemon – Director Infrastructure
Cr Luke Sharrock	Michael Sharp – Director Sustainability
Cr Tony Marwood	Jane Still – Manager Governance and Risk
Cr Adrian Weston	Annette Waters – Governacne Officer
Cr Daniel Mackrell	Shane Looney – Governance Officer
Cr Zoe Cook	Lachlan Oliver – Administrative Support Officer – Office of the CEO
	Louise Langhorn – Executive Support Officer

1 Apologies

1.1 Apologies

Nil.

1.2 Leave of Absence

Nil.

2 Election of Mayor

Directorate: Office of the CEO

Responsible Officer: Manager Governance and Risk

Manager: CEO Executive Officer

Attachments: Nil.

The process for the election of the Mayor and Deputy Mayor is set out in rule 6 of the Campaspe Shire Council Governance Rules (the Governance Rules).

Initially, in accordance with section 20A of the Local Government Act 2020 (the Act) and rule 6.2 (2) of the Governance Rules, Council may by resolution, determine to establish an office of the Deputy Mayor.

Council must also, under section 26(3) of the Act and rule 6.2(4) of the Governance Rules, determine whether the term of office of the Mayor will be for a one- or two-year period. However, given this is the last year of a four-year term, the term of office will be one year.

Moved by Cr Weston

Seconded by Cr Jarman

That Council resolves that the term of Mayor be for one year.

CARRIED

Nominations for Mayor:

Cr Marwood nominated Cr Amos

Seconded by Cr Jarman

Cr Amos accepted the nomination

Cr Cook nominated Cr Mackrell

Seconded by Cr Sharrock

Cr Mackrell accepted the nomination

Moved by Cr Weston

Seconded by Cr Jarman

That standing orders be suspended to allow for nominated Councillors to speak for a period of 3 minutes each.

CARRIED

Standing orders were suspended at 5:35pm.

Moved by Cr Weston

Seconded by Cr Zobec

That standing orders be resumed.

CARRIED

Standing orders resumed at 5:41pm.

The CEO declared the election of the Mayor:

Votes for Cr Amos: Cr Marwood, Cr Jarman and Cr Amos

Votes for Cr Mackrell: Cr Zobec, Cr Weston, Cr Sharrock, Cr Cook, Cr Mitchell and

Cr Mackrell

In accordance with Council's Governance Rules, Councillor Mackrell received an absolute majority of votes cast and was declared elected as Mayor for a one year period from 19 November 2024.

3 Ceremonial Mayoral Speech

Following the Election of the Mayor, the CEO may pass the Chair to the Mayor. In accordance with Governance Rule 6.8, the Mayor may then make a ceremonial speech to outline the priorities for the year ahead based on the adopted Council Plan.

Mayor Mackrell delivered a ceremonial address in his capacity as Mayor.

4 Election of Deputy Mayor

Directorate: Office of the CEO

Responsible Officer: Manager Governance and Risk

Manager: CEO Executive Officer

Attachments: Nil.

A Councillor must be elected to be the Deputy Mayor during the Council Meeting at which the Mayor is to be elected, in accordance with rule 6.2(3) of Council's Governance Rules.

Moved by Cr Weston

Seconded by Cr Zobec

That Council resolves to elect a Deputy Mayor and for the term of Deputy Mayor be for one year.

CARRIED

Nominations for Deputy Mayor:

Cr Weston nominated Cr Mitchell.

Seconded by Cr Zobec.

Cr Mitchell accepted the nomination.

Cr Marwood nominated Cr Jarman

Seconded by Cr Amos.

Cr Jarman accepted the nomination

Moved by Cr Weston

Seconded by Cr Amos

That standing orders be suspended to allow for nominated Councillors to speak for a period of 3 minutes each.

CARRIED

Standing orders were suspended at 5:46pm.

Moved by Cr Weston

Seconded by Cr Jarman

That standing orders be resumed.

CARRIED

Standing orders resumed at 5:52pm.

Mayor Mackrell declared the election of the Deputy Mayor:

Votes for Cr Jarman: Cr Marwood, Cr Amos and Cr Jarman

Votes for Cr Mitchell: Cr Zobec, Cr Weston, Cr Sharrock, Cr Cook, Cr Mackrell and

Cr Mitchell

In accordance with Council's Governance Rules, Councillor Mitchell received an absolute majority of votes cast and was declared elected as Deputy Mayor for a one year period from 19 November 2024.

Deputy Mayor Mitchell delivered a ceremonial address in her capacity as Deputy Mayor.

5 Close Meeting

There being no further business, the meeting was closed at 5:57pm.

DANIEL MACKRELL
MAYOR