

Council Minutes



Date: 17 November

Time: 6:00 pm

Venue: Echuca Civic Centre

Contents

1	Apologies	3
	Term of the Mayor	
	Election of Mayor	
	Installation of Mayor	
5	Office of Deputy Mayor or Acting Mayor	4
6	Term of the Deputy Mayor or Acting Mayor	4
7	Election of Deputy Mayor or Acting Mayor	4
8	Installation of Deputy Mayor or Acting Mayor	4
9	Appointment of Council representatives to committees, forums and industry groups	4
10	Council Meeting dates 2022	5
11	Close Meeting	5

Minutes of the open section of the eighth Campaspe Shire Council meeting held on Wednesday 17 November 2021, commencing at 6:00 pm at the Echuca Function Room, Echuca Civic Centre.

Present

Councillors	Officers
Cr Christine Weller	Declan Moore - Chief Executive Officer
Cr Robert Amos	Fleur Cousins - General Manager Corporate
Cr Colleen Gates	Jason Deller - General Manager Infrastructure (virtual)
Cr Paul Jarman	Paul McKenzie - General Manager Development
Cr Daniel Mackrell	Keith Oberin - General Manager Community
Cr Anthony Marwood	Andrew Cowin - Manager Governance and Strategy
Cr Leanne Pentreath	Annette Waters - Governance Officer
Cr Adrian Weston	Rebecca Jones - Governance Officer
Cr John Zobec	

In accordance with the Local Government Act (2020) the Chief Executive Officer chaired the meeting until the installation of the Mayor.

1 Apologies

Nil.

2 Term of the Mayor

Moved by Cr Jarman

Seconded by Cr Weston

That Council resolve that the Mayor be elected for a term of one year.

CARRIED

3 Election of Mayor

Moved by Cr Gates

Seconded by Cr Weston

That Councillor Christine Weller be nominated for the Office of Mayor.

There being no further nominations, the Chair declared Cr Weller elected unopposed.

4 Installation of Mayor

Newly elected Mayor, Cr Christine Weller assumed the Chair and delivered a short address of appreciation.

5 Office of Deputy Mayor or Acting Mayor

Moved by Cr Amos

Seconded by Cr Jarman

That Council establish:

A Deputy Mayor as required and in accordance with sections 20A and 21 of the Local Government Act 2020.

CARRIED

6 Term of the Deputy Mayor or Acting Mayor

Moved by Cr Jarman

Seconded by Cr Weston

That Council resolve that the Deputy Mayor be elected for a term of 1 year.

CARRIED

7 Election of Deputy Mayor or Acting Mayor

Moved by Cr Amos

Seconded by Cr Marwood

That Councillor Colleen Gates be nominated for the Office of Deputy Mayor.

There being no further nominations, the Mayor declared Cr Gates elected unopposed.

8 Installation of Deputy Mayor or Acting Mayor

The Mayor welcomed the elected Deputy Mayor, Cr Colleen Gates to the position as deputy leader of the Council.

9 Appointment of Council representatives to committees, forums and industry groups

Moved by Cr Gates

Seconded by Cr Jarman

That Council appoint the representatives to committees, forums and industry groups, as listed, for a period of 12 months commencing 17 November 2021.

CARRIED

10 Council Meeting dates 2022

Moved by Cr Weston

Seconded by Cr Zobec

That Council adopt the following Council Meeting dates, time and place as listed.

Council Meetings to be held at Echuca Civic Centre commencing at 6:00pm.

- 19 January 2022.
- 16 February 2022.
- 16 March 2022.
- 20 April 2022.
- 18 May 2022.
- 15 June 2022.
- 20 July 2022.
- 17 August 2022.
- 21 September 2022.
- 19 October 2022.
- 16 November 2022
- 14 December 2022

CARRIED

11 Close Meeting

There being no further business, the Mayor closed the meeting at 6:15PM

Cr Christine Weller

Mayor