Aboriginal heritage

Although Campaspe Shire Council is a relatively new municipality, its history goes back thousands of years to the days of the traditional owners, while European settlement in the shire started the first half of the 19th century.

The Campaspe region has a strong and rich Aboriginal culture, going back at least 26,000 years and evident in the range of significant Aboriginal sites including Murray River, Kow Swamp, Lake Cooper and Kanyapella depression.

Traditional Owners have unique rights to their country. Aboriginal People are the primary guardians, keepers and knowledge holders of Aboriginal cultural heritage.

Campaspe Shire incorporates three Traditional Owner Groups: Dja Dja Wurrung, Taungurung; and Yorta Yorta. Effective relationships with these groups will support actions towards ongoing reconciliation.

Reconciliation Victoria has developed a number of resources to provide information about each of the 79 Victorian local government areas through the Maggolee website.

In acknowledgement of the traditional owners Campaspe Shire Council has adopted the following statement:

The Shire of Campaspe is the traditional lands of the Dja Dja Wurrung, Taungurung and Yorta Yorta peoples.

We respect and acknowledge their unique Aboriginal cultural heritage and pay our respect to their ancestors, descendants and emerging leaders as the Traditional Owners of this country.

We acknowledge their living culture and their unique role in the life of this region.

Voice to Parliament Referendum

In 2023, Australians will participate in a referendum on a constitutionally enshrined Voice to Parliament.

Campaspe Shire Council encourages our community to inform themselves and respectfully exercise their democratic right to have their say.

Council encourages residents to access information provided through reputable sources to assist them in making their own considered and informed decision.

The referendum will be held sometime between October and December 2023. No date has been announced by the federal government.

The referendum will be held on a Saturday and voters will be able to cast their ballot via postal votes, pre-pooling booths or on the day at polling places.

It is compulsory to vote in a referendum and all Australian citizens aged 18 and over must vote.

Refer to the Australian Electoral Commission website to enrol or to check your enrolment